+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: The OC continues.

  1. #1
    Crax Guest

    Default The OC continues.

    Ok... So I decided I wanna raise my FSB some more. Im just runnin into some stability issues. I mean, I can crank my speed up to around 2700mhz at least and run semi-stable in windows, but when I start prime95 its not so happy. I have my chipset at 1.7, vdimm at 2.9, agp at 1.6 and vcore at 1.85. So far I can get 207 FSB X 12.5 multiplier and be 100% stable. My ram timings are 2.5-3-3-11. What suggestions would you all have as to get stable with a bit higher fsb? I mean... I can get up to about 220 FSB, but it just isnt getting stable right now, so maybe it just wont but I figure I gotta at least exhaust any ideas before I give up

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Puente CA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    pump up the vcore, mine can barely do 2.6ghz @ 1.9v.
    Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 @ 3.6ghz 400x9 1.35v <Strike>Cooled by D-Tek Fuzion w/Acc. Nozzel</strike>
    H20 Dead =(, Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Gigabyte GA P35 DS4
    G-Skill 2x2gb/Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb DDR2800 @ 4-4-4-12 2.1v
    EVGA Geforce 9800GX2 @stock
    PC Power & Cooling 750w
    Coolermaster Stacker 810
    <Strike>Tygon 1/2 tubing/DD Black Ice Extreme 2 Rad/Hydor L30 AC pump/5.25 rez</Strike>
    Windows 7 64bit

  3. #3
    Crax Guest

    Default

    Ok... runnin vcore at 1.9v now... though its really like 1.82 cause it undervolts... I dropped my chipset voltage to 1.6 to see if I may have been over juicing it and it doesnt seem to have effected stability so I guess we'll see if I need to raise it back to 1.7... anyways, Im testing now but prime95 is takin longer to find an error.. Though, I really dont know if that means much.

  4. #4
    Crax Guest

    Default

    Ok... at 1.9 vcore it froze at 210fsb, so I figured what the hey... Now at 1.93vcore so lets see how it changes.

    Edit-
    Puttin my chipset voltage back to 1.7 fixed that... Currently at 212FSBX12.5... but havnt tested for stability yet.

    Edit 2-

    Well I made it to 2700mhz... but prime95 REALLY didnt like that, muhahaha... Dang, if I could just get stable above 2600mha Anyways, I decided to lower my multiplier to 12 and see if I can just strech my FSB a bit more...

    Edit 3-

    So I gave up for tonight... No luck with anything... just crashes and instability
    Last edited by Crax; 09-18-04 at 03:37 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Northridge, California
    Age
    44
    Posts
    2,809

    Default

    Where you are is pretty much the same place where I am. My system maxes out at 12.5 x 206.7 MHz with Vcore at 1.85V, chipset at 1.7V, and Vdimm at 2.9V. I really think my FSB is being limited by my ram. I've had my ram stable at higher FSB with looser timings (I've gone upto 210 MHz), but 206.7 MHz is as high as my ram will go while staying at 2-3-2-11 timings. However, benchmarks show that having it at 206.7 MHz with 2-3-2-11 timings gives better performance than having it at 210 MHz with 2.5-3-3-11 timings. So I just keep it as it is.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [B]3DMark06[/B] = [COLOR="Blue"]7128[/COLOR]
    [B]PCMark05[/B] = [COLOR="Red"]9245[/COLOR]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Puente CA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    the best i can get mine is at 216x12, with 2-3-2 timings, 1.9vcore, 2.9vdimm (3.01v actual).
    Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 @ 3.6ghz 400x9 1.35v <Strike>Cooled by D-Tek Fuzion w/Acc. Nozzel</strike>
    H20 Dead =(, Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Gigabyte GA P35 DS4
    G-Skill 2x2gb/Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb DDR2800 @ 4-4-4-12 2.1v
    EVGA Geforce 9800GX2 @stock
    PC Power & Cooling 750w
    Coolermaster Stacker 810
    <Strike>Tygon 1/2 tubing/DD Black Ice Extreme 2 Rad/Hydor L30 AC pump/5.25 rez</Strike>
    Windows 7 64bit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ElrichMeister
    the best i can get mine is at 216x12, with 2-3-2 timings, 1.9vcore, 2.9vdimm (3.01v actual).
    what?! omg your mobo does 3.01 actual?! mine only does 2.88-2.91V when i set it to 2.9

    mine doesnt want to go above 216 either...and its not the ram either...probably the mobo...
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    maine
    Age
    30
    Posts
    283

    Default

    hey crax dont give up yet put the vcore@2 the abit undervolts so it will be like 1.95 i had to do that to be at 2700 with mine i even got it to post at 2800 with that vcore but windows hated the idea and slaped me i primed mine with that vcore all night and it made it i turned it down to 2636 later on though sop i could have the vcore at 1.85 so my temps werent so high
    abit nf7-s ver 2
    athlon xp-m 2600@2635mhz 202x13@1.85-SOLD CPU now its amd sempron 2200@222x9@1.8 intill i order my socket 754 :P
    2x256 corsiar pc3200 2.5-3-3-8
    leadtek 5700 ultra@538/1.08 agp voltage upped to 1.6
    80gb WD sata 7200rpm 8 mb buffer
    60gb MAXTOR 5400rpm 2mb buffer ata 100
    ls-120 floppy(120mb/1.44mb
    lite-on 52x32x52 cdrw
    TT 420watt psu
    aspire x-infinity case with four 80mm fans+one 120mm fan


    **********************.FreeFlatScreens**********/default.aspx?referer=9221321

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Back in Peterborough
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,255

    Default

    Sad to say but, eventually you will reach the limits of your system. My old board would 220MHz 100% stable with my Infineon PC3200 RAM. My new board just won't do anything over 212MHz FSB. No matter what I do with the voltages 212MHz is it.

    Once you realize the top speeds I like to find the lowest stable voltages at those speeds to make things run as cool as possible.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Puente CA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    yea my board overvolts the vdimm by .11v. i can run @ 2-2-2 @ 200mhz 3.01v semi-stable
    Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 @ 3.6ghz 400x9 1.35v <Strike>Cooled by D-Tek Fuzion w/Acc. Nozzel</strike>
    H20 Dead =(, Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Gigabyte GA P35 DS4
    G-Skill 2x2gb/Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb DDR2800 @ 4-4-4-12 2.1v
    EVGA Geforce 9800GX2 @stock
    PC Power & Cooling 750w
    Coolermaster Stacker 810
    <Strike>Tygon 1/2 tubing/DD Black Ice Extreme 2 Rad/Hydor L30 AC pump/5.25 rez</Strike>
    Windows 7 64bit

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Aurora, Colorado
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,842

    Default

    Remember to do Prime95 testing for at least 24 hours. I've gotten an error at 18 hours 30 minutes of testing. I was so freakin disappointed.
    <font size=1>[COLOR=Green]AMD Phenom FX-5000 @ 2805Mhz (11x255)/2040Mhz NB & HT[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="SlateGray"]XIGMATEK HDT-S1283
    [/COLOR][COLOR="Sienna"]ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe (ACC: Auto)[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=SlateGray]2x2GB Corsair DHX C4 PC2-6400 @ 680Mhz (4-4-4-12 2T) (Unganged)[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=SlateGray]400GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10[/COLOR]
    1280MB EVGA GeForce GTX 470 @ 775/1550/3750 1.075V
    [COLOR="Blue"]512MB PNY GeForce GT 240 GDDR5 @ 625/1650/4000[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="Blue"]600W OCZ GameXStream[/COLOR]
    Cooler Master CM 690
    [COLOR=Red]Windows [/COLOR][COLOR=Green]7 [/COLOR][COLOR=Blue]Ultimate [/COLOR][COLOR="Orange"]x64[/COLOR]
    F@H: [URL="****************fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=Michael_Lee"]Michael_Lee[/URL]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    in a box in paradise
    Posts
    2,172

    Default

    that's still pretty good assimilator.
    CPU: Intel Q9400@3.6Ghz
    Mobo:GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-USB3P
    Mem: 8Gb DDR800
    Vid: HD3850 512mb(yeah, yeah, I know)

  13. #13
    Crax Guest

    Default

    I decided its most likely my mobo holding me back from gettin a higher FSB... Oh well, Im happy where I am

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Age
    30
    Posts
    541

    Default

    24 hours of prime testing? guess i'll never hit that max oc, just couldnt sit there for 24 hours doing nothing

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Puente CA
    Age
    29
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    put some heatsink on the mosfets, and PLL chip, and get a better northbridge heatsink, and one on the south bridge, then you can crank up the FSB on that sucker
    Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 @ 3.6ghz 400x9 1.35v <Strike>Cooled by D-Tek Fuzion w/Acc. Nozzel</strike>
    H20 Dead =(, Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Gigabyte GA P35 DS4
    G-Skill 2x2gb/Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb DDR2800 @ 4-4-4-12 2.1v
    EVGA Geforce 9800GX2 @stock
    PC Power & Cooling 750w
    Coolermaster Stacker 810
    <Strike>Tygon 1/2 tubing/DD Black Ice Extreme 2 Rad/Hydor L30 AC pump/5.25 rez</Strike>
    Windows 7 64bit

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Aurora, Colorado
    Age
    27
    Posts
    3,842

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nova
    24 hours of prime testing? guess i'll never hit that max oc, just couldnt sit there for 24 hours doing nothing
    Well, there are three different stress tests. If I do one of the first two than it doesn't affect the performance of any of my games. If I do the third test, which says "most memory used", than that really slows down everything.
    <font size=1>[COLOR=Green]AMD Phenom FX-5000 @ 2805Mhz (11x255)/2040Mhz NB & HT[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="SlateGray"]XIGMATEK HDT-S1283
    [/COLOR][COLOR="Sienna"]ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe (ACC: Auto)[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=SlateGray]2x2GB Corsair DHX C4 PC2-6400 @ 680Mhz (4-4-4-12 2T) (Unganged)[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=SlateGray]400GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10[/COLOR]
    1280MB EVGA GeForce GTX 470 @ 775/1550/3750 1.075V
    [COLOR="Blue"]512MB PNY GeForce GT 240 GDDR5 @ 625/1650/4000[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="Blue"]600W OCZ GameXStream[/COLOR]
    Cooler Master CM 690
    [COLOR=Red]Windows [/COLOR][COLOR=Green]7 [/COLOR][COLOR=Blue]Ultimate [/COLOR][COLOR="Orange"]x64[/COLOR]
    F@H: [URL="****************fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=Michael_Lee"]Michael_Lee[/URL]

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts