+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Low latency or high speed?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Israel
    Age
    34
    Posts
    66

    Default Low latency or high speed?

    What would be better as a rule, lower latency or higher speed? and specifically with amd cpu?
    e.g Corsair XMS pc3200 2-2-2-5 (the one below) vs.Corsair XMS pc3700 3-4-4-8?

    also, assuming latency is the way, which ram you think is better from thses two? (or something else?)

    * OCZ EL Platinum Revision 2 Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
    Cas Latency: 2-2-2-5
    or
    * CORSAIR XMS, Xtra-Low Latency 2-2-2-5, 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Platinum Heat Spreader, Model TWINX1024-3200XLPT - Retail
    ?
    and a follow up question, is there a difference between the above corsair ram and this ram: CORSAIR XMS, Xtra-Low Latency 2-2-2-5, 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Heat Spreader, Model TWINX1024-3200XL - Retail ?

    both have same latency and specs, but different color(the latter is black), did I miss somehting or it's just cause the color?

    Thank you very much, and sorry for writing this again.
    [I]--=Lagavulin is the proof that the All Mighty Loves us=--[/I]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Northridge, California
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,809

    Default

    For an AMD cpu, low latency gives better performance than higher speed.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    [B]3DMark06[/B] = [COLOR="Blue"]7128[/COLOR]
    [B]PCMark05[/B] = [COLOR="Red"]9245[/COLOR]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    u will most likely will be able to overclock very far with the higher latency ram...i had that exact model...and just sold it...it reached 230 FSB easily @ 1.725 vDimm...but Ginsu is right...lower latencies are better
    <font size=1 color=blue></
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2.2Ghz (200x11) 1.65 vCore
    Abit NF7-S Rev 2.0
    Vantec Aeroflow
    PDP Sytems Patriot 1GB Ram Dual Channel Kit (2-3-3-11) 2.7 vDimm
    WD S.E. 80GB HDD
    Chaintech nVidia SA6600GT 128MB
    Thermaltake Purepower 420Watt PSU
    Thermaltake XaserIII Lanfire
    Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers
    Samsung Syncmaster 740N
    Windows XP Home Edition

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    I would go with the corsair...
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    in a box in paradise
    Posts
    2,172

    Default

    i can see the better performance with timings vs. speed with pc3200 vs. 3700 but what about pc 3200 vs. 4000 or 4200. what then? i'd like to know cause my build is in october and i want to know if i should compliment my xms pc3200 cas 2 with another stick or go for the pc4200 speed.
    CPU: Intel Q9400@3.6Ghz
    Mobo:GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-USB3P
    Mem: 8Gb DDR800
    Vid: HD3850 512mb(yeah, yeah, I know)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    if you could...sell your 3200 cas2 and get 2stics of 3200xl pro...if not then i wouldnt get the mem yet..********n it in single channel to see if your mobo/proc will oc good first...if not there's no point in 4200...
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    in a box in paradise
    Posts
    2,172

    Default

    the dfi ut 250gb mobo has been tested to a stable DDR616. the cpu and amd64 3000(newcastle) has been seeing 2.5-2.6ghz regularly. only thing left here is the ram. i don't want to do all this overclocking on loose timings if i can get better performance from cas2 timings.
    CPU: Intel Q9400@3.6Ghz
    Mobo:GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-USB3P
    Mem: 8Gb DDR800
    Vid: HD3850 512mb(yeah, yeah, I know)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    hmm....tuff choice..i would get some xl-pro's or bh5 or something good because they can do low lats at 3200 or higher (u've got all that voltage on the lanparty ) or high freqs with looserlats so its a lot of tweaking room...so you can see which one actually performs better...

    Edit: i almost forgot to add...with that much juice on ur hands...a good stick of bh5 or 6 will easily do pc4000 speeds at 2-2-2-6
    Last edited by bluegreenshxt; 09-20-04 at 01:03 AM.
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    in a box in paradise
    Posts
    2,172

    Default

    hot damn! well i'll let you fellas know how i do when i get the setup running. gotta slick the drives and start fresh but i've been hearing that the 64's can get windows installed in 10 minutes. i don't know if it will be the beginning or middle of october. see i'm in the navy and my reenlistment installment comes in october so i don't know wich paycheck. soon as it's in the bank though i'm gonna be all over newegg. or whoever has the best prices. hope it's newegg cause i like dealing with them.
    CPU: Intel Q9400@3.6Ghz
    Mobo:GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-USB3P
    Mem: 8Gb DDR800
    Vid: HD3850 512mb(yeah, yeah, I know)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omga14
    ...i've been hearing that the 64's can get windows installed in 10 minutes...
    not true at least not with a 3000+...took about the same as normal when i installed xp for him...
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Back in Peterborough
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,255

    Default

    On a Raptor harddrive Windows can be installed in about 10 minutes.

    I too would suggest the Corsair 3200XL RAM for an AMD system. The XL will run 2-2-2-5 timings at 200MHz FSB but I have seen in some reviews where it has reached 250MHz by relaxing the timings to 2.5-3-3-8. RAM with that much scalability would be pretty fun for overclocking and benchmarking.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts