+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: K8N neo2's temp goes higher than real one, but is this a bit too high?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,925

    Default K8N neo2's temp goes higher than real one, but is this a bit too high?

    Well, yeah, we all know MSI K8N neo2 platinums have problems with their temperature problems... But core center is starting to worry me a bit... Apparently, it keeps saying my idle CPU temp is 59 C, which is way higher than a load should be... But my ambient temp is 19-21 C (boo yah, go 9 fans + 2 PSU fans). So is this temperature showing my CPU is higher than it should be? Or is it that the dang temp sensor is screwing with me again? (FYI, I have to manually control my venus 12, since um... killed the thermal sensor , so its always set on high)
    [CENTER][Size=1][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][COLOR="Red"][B][U]Socket 939 parts[/U][/B]: AMD 64 Opteron 165 @ 2.7 GHz (CBB1E 0550 VPMW), 2X1 GB G.Skill DDR500 HZ (166 Mhz, 250 Mhz 3-4-4-8 1T), DFI Ultra-D NF4
    [B][U]Video Card[/U][/B]: eVGA 7950GT 256MB (thx NotMyBest2Day for the backup card MX400, still going to use it )[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="DarkOrange"][U][B]Sound Card[/B][/U]:Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
    [B][U]Hard Drives[/U][/B]: 300 GB Maxtor Diamondmax 10 SATA, 160 GB Seagate IDE[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="Orange"][B][U]Optical Drives[/U][/B]: Nec ND-2500A (flashed to 2510A) on Enermax 485w Noisetaker[/COLOR][/center][/size][/FONT]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LazyAzN
    ...since um... killed the thermal sensor...
    how'd you do that??

    if you wanna know if the the mobo is lieing...just put two fingers on the heatsink...does it feel like its 60degrees?? a 40 should be warmish,/maybe a tad bit hot, a 50 should be mediumish hot, a 60 would be pretty hot to touch...(tap water is about 65C...)
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    159

    Default

    i also have the neo plat, you know the newer bios update 1.4 is supposed to correct it. also i use nvidia system utility instead of core center to read temps. I think they are still wrong but at least the nvidia one shows about a 5 to 10 c drop.
    [IMG]****************tinypic**********/4mh5t[/IMG]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Age
    24
    Posts
    1,925

    Default

    Um... mines the neo2... There's no 1.4 BIOS update, only 1.3.. Updated to that too. Well, I lowered the volts, and raised the fsb a bit , and got 48 idle, so I think that's good... I guess.
    [CENTER][Size=1][FONT="Comic Sans MS"][COLOR="Red"][B][U]Socket 939 parts[/U][/B]: AMD 64 Opteron 165 @ 2.7 GHz (CBB1E 0550 VPMW), 2X1 GB G.Skill DDR500 HZ (166 Mhz, 250 Mhz 3-4-4-8 1T), DFI Ultra-D NF4
    [B][U]Video Card[/U][/B]: eVGA 7950GT 256MB (thx NotMyBest2Day for the backup card MX400, still going to use it )[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="DarkOrange"][U][B]Sound Card[/B][/U]:Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
    [B][U]Hard Drives[/U][/B]: 300 GB Maxtor Diamondmax 10 SATA, 160 GB Seagate IDE[/COLOR]
    [COLOR="Orange"][B][U]Optical Drives[/U][/B]: Nec ND-2500A (flashed to 2510A) on Enermax 485w Noisetaker[/COLOR][/center][/size][/FONT]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pasadena, California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluegreenshxt
    how'd you do that??

    if you wanna know if the the mobo is lieing...just put two fingers on the heatsink...does it feel like its 60degrees?? a 40 should be warmish,/maybe a tad bit hot, a 50 should be mediumish hot, a 60 would be pretty hot to touch...(tap water is about 65C...)
    Haha, no way man. 65C is about 150F so there is no way tap water is 150F.
    Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    1GB Corsair PC3200XL
    eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
    74GB Western Digital Raptor
    160GB Samsung Spinpoint

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Age
    26
    Posts
    429

    Default

    lmao....most water heaters are regulated to keep it at a max of 120 F.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    eh...i read it off a science text book a few years back...guess its was pretty outdated...

    i just found out that the temp differs depending on the water heater and the settings on it...heaters can heat well above 150F, however the consumer product safety commission suggests that water heaters be set to a maximum temperature of 120° F
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pasadena, California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bluegreenshxt
    eh...i read it off a science text book a few years back...guess its was pretty outdated...

    i just found out that the temp differs depending on the water heater and the settings on it...heaters can heat well above 150F, however the consumer product safety commission suggests that water heaters be set to a maximum temperature of 120° F
    I would expect tap water to be around 5-10 degrees cooler than room temperature.
    Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    1GB Corsair PC3200XL
    eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
    74GB Western Digital Raptor
    160GB Samsung Spinpoint

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    er..i meant hot tap water..LOL
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts