+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RAM upgrade,

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    177

    Default RAM upgrade,

    hey all, i have 512mb PC3200 made by Infineon. I want to upgrade to 1 gig of PC3200.......but im not sure which to buy. Im not looking to spend much more the 250$ canadian. Either way please let me know what is best for gaming and ocing. I was gonna run the sticks in dual channel, i just wanna know whats cheap but will be good in the long run. Also is heat spreaders are worht while?
    thanks

    steve
    SyStem SpEcs:

    AMD Athlon 2500+ Barton (@ 2303mhz)-> idle at 86*F
    Vantec Aeroflow, W/ AC5
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 350watt PS
    1.5 Gb OCZ PC3200, 2.5-3-3-7
    XFX 6600GT @ Stock Speeds,
    80gig Maxtor, LG CD-Burner, LG DVD burner
    X-Dreamer Case (3 LED fans, 1 blue cathode)
    19inch Samsung 930B, Altec Lansing 4.1 Surround

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,605

    Default

    Just get more of the same 3200 RAM. Then it will run in dual channel. 512mb more does not cost near $250 so you're safe. I got 1 gig of kingston dual channel ram set at 2-2-2-6 and it runs pefectly fine without heat spreaders.
    -------------------------------------------

    [B]HP 8510w Laptop[/B]

    Intel Core2 Duo T7500 2.2Ghz
    4GB RAM
    nVidia Quadro 570M
    1920x1200 rez
    320GB Seagate Momentus 7200.3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    4,038

    Default

    i dont think you'll find 1gig of good ram for 250CAD...

    so i agree with goku..get another stick of infineon and run it in dual channel...
    <table><td width=325>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Intel Q9450[/B] 3.2/1.1250v TRUE + Scythe S-Flex SFF21E
    [B]OCZ Platinum PC8000[/B] 4x2gb 5-5-5-15 @960/1.8v
    [B]Gigabyte EP35-DS4[/B]
    [B]Samsung[/B] Spintpoint T HD501LJ HDD
    [B]Creative SB X-Fi Extreme Music[/B] + some USB t-amp
    [B]Sapphire HD3870[/B] @stock w/ AC Accelero S1[/COLOR][/SIZE]<td>[SIZE="1"][COLOR="Gray"][B]Antec P180B[/B] w/ 5x Yate Loon D12SL-12 @5v
    [B]Some Hi-Fi Speakers[/B] + dual 8" subs
    [B]Logitech G9 Mouse[/B]
    [B]Saitek Eclipse Keyboard[/B]
    [B]LG 37LB5D[/B]
    [B]Seasonic S12 Energy Plus 650W[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE]</table>

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    26
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    I agree with these 2...
    Silverstone ST400 400W ATX 2.2
    Gigabyte 965P-DS3 Rev 1.3
    Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3.0GHz (333 FSB)
    6GB DDR2 Dual Channel @ 888MHz: 5-5-5-18
    ASUS Radeon HD4850 512MB @ 705/1070MHz
    250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
    1TB Seagate LP Green Drive

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,375

    Default

    stay away from PDP Systems ram...which should be under 250 CAD...
    <font size=1 color=blue></
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2.2Ghz (200x11) 1.65 vCore
    Abit NF7-S Rev 2.0
    Vantec Aeroflow
    PDP Sytems Patriot 1GB Ram Dual Channel Kit (2-3-3-11) 2.7 vDimm
    WD S.E. 80GB HDD
    Chaintech nVidia SA6600GT 128MB
    Thermaltake Purepower 420Watt PSU
    Thermaltake XaserIII Lanfire
    Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers
    Samsung Syncmaster 740N
    Windows XP Home Edition

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    177

    Default well,

    i could get some corsair value ram, for 243$CAD, would you recommend the corsair stuff, i mean they say its not to good for ocing, (which i have a high oc right now), but ya, i dono i might just get another stick of infineon then.....please lemme know about what you think with the corsair?
    thanks
    SyStem SpEcs:

    AMD Athlon 2500+ Barton (@ 2303mhz)-> idle at 86*F
    Vantec Aeroflow, W/ AC5
    Asus A7N8X Deluxe, 350watt PS
    1.5 Gb OCZ PC3200, 2.5-3-3-7
    XFX 6600GT @ Stock Speeds,
    80gig Maxtor, LG CD-Burner, LG DVD burner
    X-Dreamer Case (3 LED fans, 1 blue cathode)
    19inch Samsung 930B, Altec Lansing 4.1 Surround

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,605

    Default

    Corsair is a great company. One of the best. 2nd in my opinion to Kingston (The King) They should oc very nicely. I dunno where u heard that.
    -------------------------------------------

    [B]HP 8510w Laptop[/B]

    Intel Core2 Duo T7500 2.2Ghz
    4GB RAM
    nVidia Quadro 570M
    1920x1200 rez
    320GB Seagate Momentus 7200.3

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Back in Peterborough
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,255

    Default

    I use a pair of Infineon PC3200 for dual channel. The infineon is good RAM, it's just not low latency RAM. I can OC mine to 220MHz FSB no problem but I am using 2.5-3-3-8 timings. The Corair value RAM would also be a good option, it probably won't be any better than the Infineon though.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts