+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: Need to upgrade my AGP video card, any suggestoins?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    30

    Default Need to upgrade my AGP video card, any suggestoins?

    My machine currently has an ATI 9500/9700 AGP card in it. This came from Dell this way. I have a Dimension 8250 @ 3.06. I have been thinking of upgrading to a 256 AGP card. Is there any specific ones I should be looking for?


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,820

    Default

    memory doesn't have all that much to do with performance...like i knew a guy who had a 9800pro 128mb, and he sold it and bought an fx5200 256 cause he thought 256mb made it better...lol, i still make fun of him when he tries to out-nerd me...so what's the most you would spend on a graphics card?? and what games are you looking to play??
    [html][RIGHT][B][U]System Specs[/U]
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.8ghz
    DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL
    OCZ ATI certified 2048mb DDR2
    G.Skill 2048mb DDR2 800
    ATI Radeon HD5770 1024mb
    500gb Western Digital Caviar Black
    Antec High Current Gamer 520W
    Antec Three Hundred
    [/B][/RIGHT][/html]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Well we bought the new Age of Empires III and the current card doesn't work at the high end settings.

    I could easily spend $500 on a new card.

    Also I have been looking around since I posted and the ATI X850 XT seems like a good one.

    Would this be ok?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Orlando, Florida, US
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    The card in your current dell isnt integrated is it? if so then you probably dont have an AGP port.

    The X850XTPE is the best AGP graphics card you can get
    [SIZE=2]Full Time Geek Squad Counter Intellegence Agent[/SIZE]
    [SIZE=1]Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.0Ghz W/ Scythe Ninja Rev. B
    ASUS P5K Deluxe
    G.Skill DDRII PC-8000 4GB (2x2GB) @ 1090Mhz
    EVGA 8800GTS (rev.2) 512MB 700mhz core 2000mhz memory
    DELL 2007FPW
    2 Western Digital 150GB Raptors RAID 0
    500GB Western Digital
    Lian-li Pc-V1200A Plus W/ Enermax 620w Liberty PSU
    Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
    Logitech Z-5500, G5 Laser Mouse and G15 Keyboard[/SIZE]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,820

    Default

    yeah if you're willing to spend 500 bucks...then you can pretty much get anything under the sun...in the world of AGP that is...except for like quadros..but yeah, like chirs said, the x850xtpe is the best you can get for AGP...
    [html][RIGHT][B][U]System Specs[/U]
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.8ghz
    DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL
    OCZ ATI certified 2048mb DDR2
    G.Skill 2048mb DDR2 800
    ATI Radeon HD5770 1024mb
    500gb Western Digital Caviar Black
    Antec High Current Gamer 520W
    Antec Three Hundred
    [/B][/RIGHT][/html]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    in a box in paradise
    Posts
    2,172

    Default

    the 7800GS is agp and will be available here shortly. here's a review for your viewing pleasure: Anandtech 7800GS review. not much i know but it gives you a little info on the card. i't should best any current agp card current. price point will be way under the $500 you want to spend as well.
    Last edited by omga14; 01-21-06 at 04:11 PM.
    CPU: Intel Q9400@3.6Ghz
    Mobo:GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-USB3P
    Mem: 8Gb DDR800
    Vid: HD3850 512mb(yeah, yeah, I know)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    17,654

    Default

    Radeon X850's can be had for just over $200. That is your best option on the market right now. AGP doesn't offer any room for expansion so this will most likely be your last video card upgrade before you have to replace the whole system.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    If you can spend 500 bucks....

    Socket 939 Mobo ~ $100
    Athlon64 3200+ ~ $160
    Radeon X850XT ~ $240

    Sticking with AGP doesn't really make sense if you can drop 500 bucks... Might as well go PCI-express and be ready for the future.
    Silverstone ST400 400W ATX 2.2
    Gigabyte 965P-DS3 Rev 1.3
    Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3.0GHz (333 FSB)
    6GB DDR2 Dual Channel @ 888MHz: 5-5-5-18
    ASUS Radeon HD4850 512MB @ 705/1070MHz
    250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
    1TB Seagate LP Green Drive

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,820

    Default

    yeah that's true...if you're willing to spend 500 bucks US, just get a new mobo, cpu, and GFX card...but like avid said, if you're not gonna make the switch, don't get anything too pricey in the AGP department cause there's really no point...
    [html][RIGHT][B][U]System Specs[/U]
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.8ghz
    DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL
    OCZ ATI certified 2048mb DDR2
    G.Skill 2048mb DDR2 800
    ATI Radeon HD5770 1024mb
    500gb Western Digital Caviar Black
    Antec High Current Gamer 520W
    Antec Three Hundred
    [/B][/RIGHT][/html]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have same 8250 and am also looking to upgrade videocard for use with flightsim and play video files on 32inch LCD TV. Problem is that all the topend AGP cards I've seen -- including the ones mentioned here -- require at least a 300W power supply and the Dell comes with 250W. Are there any with a lower power requirement so I don't have to replace power supply? And if I do replace power supply, so I have to ugrade mobo as well?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    La Puente CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,429

    Default

    i believe dell uses propriety PSU's so your gonna have to upgrade the mobo as well, cause if you buy an aftermarket psu, it may fry your current mobo
    Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6850 @ 3.6ghz 400x9 1.35v <Strike>Cooled by D-Tek Fuzion w/Acc. Nozzel</strike>
    H20 Dead =(, Xigmatek Dark Knight
    Gigabyte GA P35 DS4
    G-Skill 2x2gb/Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb DDR2800 @ 4-4-4-12 2.1v
    EVGA Geforce 9800GX2 @stock
    PC Power & Cooling 750w
    Coolermaster Stacker 810
    <Strike>Tygon 1/2 tubing/DD Black Ice Extreme 2 Rad/Hydor L30 AC pump/5.25 rez</Strike>
    Windows 7 64bit

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,449

    Default

    Oh ********e. I forgot it was a Dell. With a Dell you're going to need a new PSU, and maybe a new case. Cases are cheap though so its not a big deal. Topower is an OEM manufacturer that manufactures PSU's for the big guys such as Enermax and OCZ. I've bought some of the PSU's branded with their name and they've been very reliable so far. You might want to check them out if you're shopping for a PSU on a budget. Just remember read reviews cause you never want to cut corners on a PSU cause its not worth it saving 20 bucks on a cheap PSU to have your whole PC die.
    Silverstone ST400 400W ATX 2.2
    Gigabyte 965P-DS3 Rev 1.3
    Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3.0GHz (333 FSB)
    6GB DDR2 Dual Channel @ 888MHz: 5-5-5-18
    ASUS Radeon HD4850 512MB @ 705/1070MHz
    250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.10
    1TB Seagate LP Green Drive

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Comments are really helpful -- thanks. Does anyone know of a good AGP card that will do at least 1600 x 1200 and will work with a 250W PSU?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turnerma
    Comments are really helpful -- thanks. Does anyone know of a good AGP card that will do at least 1600 x 1200 and will work with a 250W PSU?
    I would SERIOUSLY advise upgrading your PSU. I don't think you'll be able to run a decent card with that.

    Is that 7800GS AGP? I didn't think they were planning on releasing any of the 7 series in AGP...!

    Also, (I know you can't buy them new anymore) how does the 6800 Ultra stack up against the best of the best AGP wise?
    Last edited by Stone Fox; 02-01-06 at 04:54 AM.
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

    [IMG]****************i21.photobucket**********/albums/b280/Abaddon001/sig-1.jpg[/IMG]

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Back in Peterborough
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,255

    Default

    The Dell PSUs are very well built. If you haven't made many other chages to the system I would think the system could handle a higher-end videocard. The OEM builders can get away with a little lower rated PSUs because they generally know how the systems are going to be configured. Obviously they need to leave some room for those looking to upgrade though.

    The 300W requirement slapped onto the graphics cards are also a little conservative. They cards do guzzle some power, but the manufactures are also being aware of the people running those awsome generic branded 450W POS.

    To be sure check the current (amps) for the various voltage rails and post them here. With a bit of a look and some quick math we can probably figure out if you will be allright.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I haven't looked inside yet -- but I did find another thread with details of PSUs which are (allegedly) designed for Dell mobos. I was thinking of getting one of these to be safe.

    Course, once I've spent all that, I might as well build a new machine.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Tok, Alaska
    Age
    59
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by turnerma
    Course, once I've spent all that, I might as well build a new machine.
    I agree with you there, it's probably a better idea to build from scratch and be ready for the future ...
    i7-965EE - ASUS R3E - Noctua NH-D14 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 1600 - 2 WD 150GB VelociRaptors RAID 0 - 2 HD4870 X2s - Silverstone DA1000W PSU - Open Test Bench - Dell 3008 WFP 30" - Win7 64bit Ult
    24/7 Rig - Xeon 3360 - Noctua NH-U12P - Gigabyte EP45-UD3P - 8GB OCZ PC2 6400 - 2 Seagate 500GB-RAID 0 - ATI HD5850 - OCZ 700W PSU - Antec P180 - Dell 30" - Win7 64bit Ult

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    17

    Default

    I'd still say 250 is a bit lite. I had a pc ages ago('bout 5 years) with a 250 watt, (Athlon 1ghz, 512 PC133 SD, 40gb Maxtor, 32mb Geforce2 MX) I upgraded the graphics card to a 64mb Geforce2 Ti6400 I think it was and the system kept rebooting - turns out 250watts wasn't enough...

    This is something you'd probably need to ask St.Louis, but dells' proprietary kit I believe has an emphasis on low heat and power consumption, changing stock parts may dramatically increase power draw. That IS second hand information though, I could be wrong. As I said, St.Louis is a dell expert, Not that he works for them or anything! *cough*
    (\__/)
    (='.'=)This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
    (")_(")signature to help him gain world domination.

    [IMG]****************i21.photobucket**********/albums/b280/Abaddon001/sig-1.jpg[/IMG]

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,820

    Default

    My celeron 2.4 @ 2806mhz, and my 9600pro @ 460/650 ran on my emachines 250W PSU without any issues...but i got a 300W just in case...they were both generic PSU's too...but i didn't care much cause i was switching to s939/PCI-e
    [html][RIGHT][B][U]System Specs[/U]
    Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.8ghz
    DFI Blood Iron P35-T2RL
    OCZ ATI certified 2048mb DDR2
    G.Skill 2048mb DDR2 800
    ATI Radeon HD5770 1024mb
    500gb Western Digital Caviar Black
    Antec High Current Gamer 520W
    Antec Three Hundred
    [/B][/RIGHT][/html]

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ottawa, ON
    Age
    27
    Posts
    5,021

    Default

    ya, but if he keeps the dell, he can still use dell on call and i'll help him out....if he's lucky

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts