+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Using a PC's digital optical connection as an input

Default Using a PC's digital optical connection as an input

Hello again

I have a few queries about the optical connection on my PC. Firstly while computer literate, i have never used optical connections before. I am trying to use it as an input from my samsung screen/tv. Is it physically capable of this or does it only act as an output?

Secondly, when i go to my audio mixer and click devices there are 2 devices I can use. SPDIF OUT Creative SB X-Fi or Digital Output Device (SPDIF HD Audio Device). I assume one will use my onboard sound card to process the data and one will use my X-Fi card.

Thanks
    Ed
    Last edited by AMDfan; 09-30-08 at 08:26 AM.
    [SIZE=2][FONT=Times New Roman][COLOR=Blue]

2x 1GB OCZ PC-2 6400 Platinum
    Western Digital Raptor 74GB (OS)
    2x Samsung F1, 1Tb in Raid 1 (Main)
    Enermax Liberty 500W

Acer T230H
    Samsung Series 6 37inch[/COLOR][/FONT][/SIZE]

Talking Re: Using a PC's digital optical connection as an input

The Asus P5W DH Deluxe

[IMG]**********************.asus**********/999/images/products/1198/backIO.jpg[/IMG]

The S/PDIF port on your Mobo is used as an OUTPUT and not an INPUT just to shed some light on your situation. Now the Coaxial Digital Audio Port I have no idea about really, because for one I have never really used one except to hook up my Yamaha Muvo Box and it was used as an OUTPUT to the Midi controller box.

Hope this helps you a little...

Default Re: Using a PC's digital optical connection as an input

Unless it specifically says INPUT on it it, it's only an output and cannot be used as an input.

You should disable your onboard sound seeing as you have an add-in sound card. Creative can sometimes be fussy with other audio devices.
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.2GHz | ASUS P6TD Deluxe | Mushkin Blackline @ 1600MHz 7-9-7-24-1N
    Sapphire HD5870 1050MHz/1200MHz | ASUS Xonar DX | Corsair HX850W